29. April 22
Friday
18:00
  • Adult
  • Guided Tour
  • Talks

Artist talk with catalog presentation

„I act loyal to the truth“ – The artist Iris Häussler comes into conversation with the two curators Dr. Sintje Guericke and Dr. Marlene Gunia in the Skulpturenhof about her installation „If“ and the genesis of this work: How do you create and tell a memory image in art? Together they will present the accompanying catalog of the exhibition „No One Knows Me. Iris Häussler meets Benjamine Kolbe“, which is now newly published. Afterwards, Iris Häussler and Dr. Georgiana Uhlyarik, co-author of the catalog, will lead a guided tour of the exhibition in English. Special thanks go to the sponsorship and support of the Canadian Embassy, the Ilse Augustin Foundation, and the Friends of the Georg Kolbes Museum.

Iris Häussler was born in 1962 in Friedrichshafen, Germany, and studied sculpture and conceptual art with Heribert Sturm at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich from 1983 to 1990. Häussler has lived and worked in Toronto since 2001. In her installation-based works, she presents fictional characters and their artistic products and object-like artifacts. Through a long process of research, she invents and expands detailed biographies, transforming her characters from theoretical blueprints into the tactility and sensuality of their dramatic life legacies. In her participatory approach, the artist turns viewers into co-producers of her expansive installations. Interested in the fragile boundaries between fiction and reality, Häussler offers a multi-layered and finely spun web of objects and memorabilia that are as imagined as they are plausible, which in turn refer to the construct of identity and undermine reliable concepts of authenticity. In doing so, the artist lays tracks that thematize the act of remembering as a (re)constructive experience.

Georgiana Uhlyarik is an adjunct professor at the University of Toronto and York University and a research associate in modern literature and culture at Ryerson University. As a curator and writer, she focuses on the work of 20th-century women artists in Canada and the United States. Her numerous projects have featured the work of Suzy Lake, Rita Letendre, Georgia O’Keeffe, and Kenojuak Ashevak, among others, with institutional partners in Germany, the UK, the US, and Brazil. Since 2017, Uhlyarik Fredrik S. Eaton has been curator and co-head of the Indigenous and Canadian Art Department at the Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto. The publication she co-edited, Moving the Museum: Indigenous & Canadian Art at the Art Gallery of Ontario, will be published by Goose Lane Editions in Spring 2022.

29. April 22
Freitag
18:00
  • Erwachsene
  • Führung
  • Gespräche

Künstlerinnen­gespräch & Katalog­präsentation

„Ich verhalte mich der Wahrheit gegenüber loyal“ – Die Künstlerin Iris Häussler kommt mit den beiden Kuratorinnen Dr. Sintje Guericke und Dr. Marlene Gunia im Skulpturenhof über ihre Installation „If“ und die Entstehungsgeschichte dieser Arbeit ins Gespräch: Wie erschafft und erzählt man ein Erinnerungsbild in der Kunst? Gemeinsam stellen sie den dazugehörigen Katalog der Ausstellung „Kein Mensch kennt mich. Iris Häussler begegnet Benjamine Kolbe“ vor, der nun neu erscheint. Im Anschluss daran führen Iris Häussler und Dr. Georgiana Uhlyarik, Co-Autorin des Katalogs, in englischer Sprache durch die Ausstellung. Ein ganz besonderer Dank geht dabei an die Förderung und Unterstützung der Kanadischen Botschaft, der Ilse Augustin Stiftung und an den Freundeskreis des Georg Kolbes Museums.

Iris Häussler wurde 1962 in Friedrichshafen geboren und studierte Bildhauerei und konzeptionelle Kunst von 1983 bis 1990 an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München bei Heribert Sturm. Seit 2001 lebt und arbeitet Häussler in Toronto. In ihren installativen Arbeiten präsentiert sie fiktive Charaktere und deren künstlerischen Erzeugnisse und objekthafte Artefakte. In einem langjährigen Rechercheprozess erfindet und erweitert sie detaillierte Biografien, und überführt ihre Charaktere vom theoretischen Entwurf in die Haptik und Sinnlichkeit ihrer dramatischen Lebensnachlässe. In ihrem partizipativen Ansatz macht die Künstlerin Betrachter*innen zu Co-Produzent*innen ihrer raumgreifenden Installationen. An den fragilen Grenzen von Fiktion und Realität interessiert, bietet Häussler ein vielschichtiges und feingesponnenes Netz ebenso erdachter wie plausibler Objekte und Memorabilia an, die wiederum auf das Konstrukt von Identität verweisen und verlässliche Konzepte von Authentizität aushebeln. Dabei legt die Künstlerin Fährten, die den Akt des Erinnerns als (re-)konstruierende Erfahrung thematisieren.

Georgiana Uhlyarik ist Lehrbeauftragte an der University of Toronto und der York University sowie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin für moderne Literatur und Kultur an der Ryerson University. Als Kuratorin und Autorin konzentriert sie sich auf das Werk von Künstlerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts in Kanada und in den USA. Ihre zahlreichen Projekte haben unter anderem die Werke von Suzy Lake, Rita Letendre, Georgia O’Keeffe und Kenojuak Ashevak mit institutionellen Partnern in Deutschland, Großbritannien, den USA und Brasilien vorgestellt. Seit 2017 ist Uhlyarik Fredrik S. Eaton Curator und Co-Leiterin der Abteilung für indigene und kanadische Kunst in der Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto. Die von ihr mit herausgegebene Publikation Moving the Museum: Indigenous & Canadian Art at the Art Gallery of Ontario wird im Frühjahr 2022 bei Goose Lane Editions erscheinen.