29. October 2022
Saturday
14:00

Critical Distance. Body Politics and Displacement in the Work of Mona Hatoum

Held in conjunction with the survey exhibition of the work of Mona Hatoum, this international symposium offers insight into the artist’s oeuvre. With her interest in articulating concerns through a reductive approach and abstract language, Hatoum is considered a prominent representative of Postminimalism, taking the visual code of Minimal Art and deconstructing or expanding it in a targeted manner.

By transforming everyday objects and materials in an unexpected way and linking her presentations to feminist discourses and body politics, Hatoum broadens the notion of sculpture from questions of materiality to critical thinking. Her long engagement with themes of exclusion and exile, changing notions of gender and race, and, not least, the body itself, provides new perspectives on contemporary debates and current political discourse. The symposium will deal with the notion of sculpture’s engagement in sociopolitical perspectives, the development of sculpture in an increasingly digital age, new attitudes towards the body and the uncertain and precarious conditions of our world.

The three-part exhibition Mona Hatoum is on view at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (September 15 – November 13, 2022), Georg Kolbe Museum (September 15, 2022 – January 8, 2023), and KINDL – Centre for Contemporary Art (September 18, 2022 – May 14, 2023).

29. Oktober 2022
Samstag
15:00
  • Podiumsdiskussion

Critical Distance. Body Politics and Displacement in the Work of Mona Hatoum

Anlässlich der Überblicksausstellung zum Werk von Mona Hatoum bietet ein international besetztes Symposium eine Annäherung an das Werk der Künstlerin. Mit ihrem Ansatz, Inhalte durch eine formal reduzierte und abstrakte Sprache zu artikulieren, gilt Hatoum als prominente Vertreterin des Postminimalismus, der den visuellen Code der Minimal Art aufgreift, gezielt dekonstruiert oder erweitert.

Indem Hatoum Alltagsobjekte und Materialien in überraschende Zusammenhänge überführt und sie in körperpolitische und feministische Diskurse einbindet, öffnet sie einen rein auf Fragen der Objekthaftigkeit rekurrierenden Skulpturbegriff für ein kritisches Denken. Die von Hatoum in ihren Werken seit Jahrzehnten vorangetriebene Auseinandersetzung mit Themen wie Ausgrenzung und Exil, sich ändernden Vorstellungen von Gender und Race und nicht zuletzt dem Körper selbst ermöglicht nicht nur Zugänge zu zeitgenössischen Debatten und politischen Diskursen, sondern auch zu den post-digitalen Praktiken einer jungen Künstler*innengeneration. Das Symposium verbindet so den Begriff der Skulptur mit gesellschaftspolitischen Perspektiven und formuliert Antworten auf die Frage, wie sich das Medium im Spannungsfeld einer zunehmenden Digitalisierung, neuen Körperbildern und den unsicheren und prekären Bedingungen unserer Welt entwickelt.

Die dreiteilige Ausstellung Mona Hatoum ist im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (15.9.2022 – 13.11.2022), im Georg Kolbe Museum (15.9.2022 – 8.1.2023) und im KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst (18.9.2022 – 14.5.2023) zu sehen.