Tilla Durieux

A witness to a Century and her roles

13. May 2023 – 20. August 2023

1/2 Max Slevogt, Die Schauspielerin Tilla Durieux als Kleopatra, 1907 © Privatsammlung, Foto: Leopold Museum, Wien
1/2 Becker und Maass, Fotoatelier, Tilla Durieux in ihrem Heim, 1921 © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Kunstbibliothek

She was a celebrated theatre and film star, political activist, artistic visionary and probably one of the most portrayed women of her time. The roles of Tilla Durieux (1880-1971) were as diverse as the list of artists she posed for and inspired: Max Slevogt, Lovis Corinth, Frieda Riess, Franz von Stuck, Ernst Barlach, August Gaul, Emil Orlik, Oskar Kokoschka, Auguste Renoir, Lotte Jacobi. The fascination for this extraordinary artist has not diminished to this day. The Georg Kolbe Museum is dedicating an exhibition to this multifaceted personality and her eventful life in 2023.

Born in Vienna, Ottilie Helene Angela Godeffroy wanted to be on stage since her early childhood and changed her name to Tilla Durieux in reference to her grandmother’s birth name. After studying acting in her hometown, Durieux made it to the stage of the artistic director Max Reinhardt in Berlin in 1903 via stations in Olmütz and Breslau. After a few smaller roles, her breakthrough came with the part of Salomé in Oscar Wilde’s play of the same name – the myth of Tilla Durieux was born. Engagements in all the important theatres in Europe and new, challenging roles followed – not only on stage but also in front of the camera.

Tilla Durieux was socially and politically engaged throughout her life. In 1933 she fled via Switzerland to Croatia, where she actively supported the resistance against the National Socialists in Zagreb. She only returned to Berlin in 1952 and continued her impressive career as an actress on stage and in film. She died in 1971 at the age of 90 and was buried at the Heerstraße cemetery, where Paul Cassirer, her second husband, and also Georg Kolbe found their final resting place.

The exhibition at the Georg Kolbe Museum will show numerous works of art by important artists and documents from Tilla Durieux’s estate – parts of which are housed at the Georg Kolbe Museum – to bring to life an exciting panorama of this brilliant life as well as the cultural and theatre history of the 20th century.

The exhibition is curated by the art historian and critic Daniela Gregori and was created in cooperation with the Leopold Museum, Vienna.

The exhibition at the Georg Kolbe Museum will be accompanied by a multifaceted supporting and educational programme.

Tilla Durieux

Eine Jahrhundertzeugin und ihre Rollen

13. Mai 2023 – 20. August 2023

1/2 Herman Haller, Tilla Durieux, 1917
1/2

Sie war gefeierter Theater- und Filmstar, politische Aktivistin, künstlerische Visionärin und wohl eine der meistporträtierten Frauen ihrer Zeit. Die Rollen von Tilla Durieux (1880–1971) waren ebenso vielfältig wie auch die Liste der Künstler*innen, denen sie Modell saß, die sie inspirierte:  Max Slevogt, Lovis Corinth, Frieda Riess, Franz von Stuck, Ernst Barlach, August Gaul, Emil Orlik, Oskar Kokoschka, Auguste Renoir, Lotte Jacobi. Bis heute hat die Faszination für diese außerordentliche Künstlerin nicht nachgelassen. Das Georg Kolbe Museum widmet der vielseitigen Persönlichkeit und ihrem bewegten Leben 2023 eine umfassende Ausstellung.

Die in Wien geborene Ottilie Helene Angela Godeffroy wollte seit ihrer Kindheit zur Bühne und änderte dafür ihren Namen in Anlehnung an den Geburtsnamen der Großmutter zu Tilla Durieux. Nach einer Schauspielausbildung in ihrer Heimatstadt schaffte es Durieux über Stationen in Olmütz und Breslau 1903 auf die Bühne des Intendanten und Regisseurs Max Reinhardt in Berlin. Nach einigen kleineren Rollen gelang ihr mit dem Part der Salomé in Oscar Wildes gleichnamigen Stück der Durchbruch – und der Mythos Tilla Durieux war geboren. Es folgten Engagements in allen wichtigen Häusern Europas und neue, herausfordernde Rollen – nicht nur auf der Bühne, sondern auch vor der Kamera.

Tilla Durieux war Zeit ihres Lebens sozial und politisch engagiert. 1933 floh sie über die Schweiz nach Kroatien, wo sie in Zagreb den Widerstand gegen die Nationalsozialisten aktiv unterstützte. Erst 1952 kehrte sie nach Berlin zurück und setzte ihre beeindruckende Karriere als Schauspielerin auf der Bühne sowie im Film fort. Sie verstarb 1971 im Alter von 90 Jahren und wurde auf dem Friedhof Heerstraße begraben, wo schon Paul Cassirer, ihr zweiter Ehemann, aber auch Georg Kolbe ihre letzte Ruhestätte fanden.

Die Ausstellung im Georg Kolbe Museum wird anhand zahlreicher Kunstwerke von bedeutenden Künstler*innen und Dokumente aus dem Nachlass Tilla Durieux‘ – von dem Teile im Georg Kolbe Museum beherbergt sind – ein aufregendes Panorama dieses fulminanten Lebens sowie der Kultur- und Theatergeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts erlebbar werden lassen.

Die Ausstellung wird von der Kunsthistorikerin und Kritikerin Daniela Gregori kuratiert und entstand in Kooperation mit dem Leopold Museum, Wien.

Ein vielseitiges Rahmen- und Vermittlungsprogramm wird die Ausstellung im Georg Kolbe Museum begleiten.