Tickets

Noa Eshkol

No Time to Dance

15. March 2024 – 25. August 2024

1/3 Installationview Noa Eshkol. No Time to Dance, Georg Kolbe Museum, 2024, Foto: Enric Duch
1/3 The Chamber Dance Quartet (Ensemble 1) dances "Peacocks" by Noa Eshkol in the Ohel Theater, Tel Aviv. Front: Noa Eshkol. Back (left to right): Naomi Polani, John G. Harries, Miral'e Sharon. photo: T. Brauner, 1954-1956 © The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation, Holon, Israel
1/3 Noa Eshkol The Four Seasons, ca. 1980, cotton, sisal, wool, lurex, viscose, lamé, satin, polyester, jersey, cotton crepe, silk taffeta 484 x 484 cm © The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation, Holon, Israel Foto: Jens Ziehe, Berlin courtesy The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation, Holon, Israel, and neugerriemschneider, Berlin

“Eshkol-Wachman Movement Notation is a thinking tool that can teach people the art of observation, i.e. encourage them to aspire for the ultimate level of seeing. It does so by organizing the ‘material’ known as movements of the human body in relatively simple categories, thereby allowing us an insight (in-sight) into the complexity of this phenomenon as a whole.” Noa Eshkol 

According to the Israeli dancer, choreographer and artist Noa Eshkol (1924, Kibbutz Degania B, League of Nations Mandate for Palestine – 2007, Holon, Israel), dance should be performed without stage sets, costumes or music – her goal was absolute concentration on only the essential. In her choreographic pieces, body parts are treated as separate instruments, each with its own scope and possibilities. With a deep understanding of the body and spatiality, Eshkol developed choreographic works that she encoded in a unique system of notation that she developed together with the architect Abraham Wachmann in 1954: the Eshkol-Wachmann Notation (EWMN). The counterpoint to her minimalist choreographies and graphic dance notations are large-format and colour-intensive tapestries. Eshkol began to create these abstract textile compositions from collected and donated fabric scraps in 1973 at the outbreak of the Yom Kippur War.  

The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation in Holon and the Chamber Dance Group ensemble preserve her unique legacy, which is still too little known in Germany. In 2024, Noa Eshkol would have turned 100. To mark the occasion, the Georg Kolbe Museum is presenting an exhibition showcasing the life and work of this groundbreaking choreographer and dancer, thus in a new way bringing to life the themes that are so important to the museum, such as modern dance and modernist architecture. The focus is on Eshkol’s research into movement since the 1950s, choreographies, language studies, dances, textile art and the notation system she developed for human and animal movements.
A presentation of the collection in the museum’s Schaudepot provides an insight into the theme of dance in the work of the sculptor Georg Kolbe. In addition, the surprising connection between Kolbe and Noa Eshkol is reconstructed on the basis of numerous documents: in 1926, Kolbe made a portrait of Gret Palucca and drew her dancing. From 1932, the dancer Tile Rössler was part of the school management at Palucca’s school before she was dismissed in April 1933 due to her Jewish origins. She emigrated to Palestine and founded her own school. Noa Eshkol took lessons there in the 1940s.

Eshkol’s work has inspired many contemporary artists. The multimedia works of Sharon Lockhart (*1964, Norwood, Massachusetts, USA), Omer Krieger (*1975, Tel Aviv, Israel) and Yael Bartana (*1970, Kfar Yehezkel, Israel) are juxtaposed with Eshkol’s works. A newly commissioned work by contemporary artist Ayumi Paul (*1980, Giessen, Germany) enrichs the exhibition. A one-day online conference explores possibilities of the digital space for monographic artists‘ estates and their mediation. In addition, the Norwegian choreographer and dancer Janne-Camilla Lyster will perform her solo piece Time and Solitude, which is inspired by Eshkol’s choreographies, as part of the exhibition.

A joint republication of the first Eshkol-Wachmann movement notation, produced in collaboration with KW Institute for Contemporary Art, bridges the gap between the performance Pause: The Noa Eshkol Chamber Dance Group at KW in the summer of 2023 and the exhibition at the Georg Kolbe Museum in 2024. The book will be presented at the Georg Kolbe Museum in March 2024.

On the occasion of the exhibition there will be a digital workshop on april 15, 2024: Activating a Collection. Artists’ Estates in the Digital Space.

Tickets

Noa Eshkol

No Time to Dance
Mit Yael Bartana, Omer Krieger, Sharon Lockhart und Ayumi Paul

15. März 2024 – 25. August 2024

1/5 Ausstellungsansicht Noa Eshkol. No Time to Dance, Georg Kolbe Museum, 2024, Foto: Enric Duch
1/5 The Chamber Dance Quartet (Ensemble 1) dances "Peacocks" by Noa Eshkol in the Ohel Theater, Tel Aviv. Front: Noa Eshkol. Back (left to right): Naomi Polani, John G. Harries, Miral'e Sharon. photo: T. Brauner, 1954-1956 © The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation, Holon, Israel
1/5 Noa Eshkol The Four Seasons, ca. 1980, Baumwolle, Sisal, Wolle, Lurex, Viskose, Lamé, Satin, Polyester, Jersey, Baumwollkrepp, Seidentaft 484 x 484 cm © The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation, Holon, Israel Foto: Jens Ziehe, Berlin courtesy The Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation, Holon, Israel, and neugerriemschneider, Berlin
1/5 Ausstellungsansicht Noa Eshkol. No Time to Dance, Georg Kolbe Museum, 2024, Foto: Enric Duch

„Die Eshkol-Wachman-Bewegungsnotation ist ein Denkwerkzeug, das Menschen die Kunst des Beobachtens lehren kann, d.h. sie dazu ermutigen kann, nach der höchsten Ebene des Sehens zu streben. Dazu organisiert sie das ‚Material‘, das als Bewegungen des menschlichen Körpers bekannt ist, in relativ einfachen Kategorien und ermöglicht uns so eine Ein-Sicht in die Komplexität dieses Phänomens als Ganzes.“ – Noa Eshkol   

Nach der israelischen Tänzerin, Choreografin und Künstlerin Noa Eshkol (1924, Kibbuz Degania B, Völkerbundmandat für Palästina – 2007, Cholon, Israel) sollte Tanz ohne Bühnenbild, Kostüme oder Musik ausgeübt werden – die absolute Konzentration auf das Wesentliche war ihr Ziel. Körperteile werden in ihren choreografischen Stücken wie separate Instrumente behandelt. Jedes einzelne hat dabei seine eigenen Spielräume und Möglichkeiten. Mit einem tiefen Verständnis für den Körper und Räumlichkeit entwickelte Eshkol choreografische Werke, die sie in einem einzigartigen Notationssystem kodierte, das sie 1954 gemeinsam mit dem Architekten Abraham Wachmann entwickelte: die Eshkol-Wachmann Notation (EWMN). Den Gegenpol zu ihren minimalistischen Choreografien und grafischen Tanznotationen bilden großformatige und farbintensive Wandteppiche. Ab 1973 und mit Ausbruch des Jom-Kippur-Krieges begann Eshkol diese abstrakten textilen Kompositionen aus gesammelten und gespendeten Stoffresten zu kreieren. 

Die Noa Eshkol Foundation for Movement Notation in Cholon und das Ensemble der Chamber Dance Group bewahren ihr einzigartiges Erbe, welches in Deutschland noch zu wenig bekannt ist. Im Jahr 2024 wäre Noa Eshkol 100 Jahre geworden. Das Georg Kolbe Museum präsentiert aus diesem Anlass eine Ausstellung, die das Leben und Werk dieser wegweisenden Choreografin und Tänzerin zeigt und damit die für das Museum so wichtigen Themen, wie den modernen Tanz und die Architektur der Moderne, neu erlebbar macht. Im Fokus stehen Eshkols Bewegungsforschungen seit den 1950er Jahren, Choreografien, Sprachstudien, Tänze, Textilkunst und das von ihr entwickelte Notationssystem für menschliche und tierische Bewegungen.
Einen Einblick in das Thema Tanz im Werk des Bildhauers Georg Kolbe ermöglicht eine Sammlungspräsentation im Schaudepot des Museums. Darüber hinaus wird dort die überraschende Verbindungslinie zwischen Kolbe und Noa Eshkol anhand zahlreicher Dokumente nachvollzogen: 1926 fertigte Kolbe ein Portrait nach Gret Palucca und zeichnete sie tanzend. An der Schule Paluccas wiederum war ab 1932 die Tänzerin Tile Rössler Teil der Schulleitung, ehe sie im April 1933 aufgrund ihrer jüdischen Herkunft entlassen wurde. Sie emigrierte nach Palästina und gründete eine eigene Schule. In den 1940er Jahren nahm dort Noa Eshkol Unterricht.

Eshkols Arbeiten inspirierten zahlreiche zeitgenössische Künstler*innen. Die multimedialen Werke Sharon Lockharts (*1964, Norwood, Massachusetts, USA), Omer Kriegers (*1975, Tel Aviv, Israel) und Yael Bartanas (*1970, Kfar Yehezkel, Israel) stehen den Arbeiten Eshkols gegenüber. Eine neu entstehende Auftragsarbeit der zeitgenössischen Künstlerin Ayumi Paul (*1980, Giessen, Deutschland) erweitert die Ausstellung. Eine eintägige Online-Konferenz erkundet Möglichkeiten des digitalen Raums für monografische Künstler*innennachlässe und ihrer Vermittlung. Darüber hinaus wird die norwegische Choreografin und Tänzerin Janne-Camilla Lyster ihr Solostück Time and Solitude, das von den Choreografien Eshkols inspiriert ist, im Rahmen der Ausstellung performen.

Eine gemeinsam mit den KW Institute for Contemporary Art produzierte Neupublikation der ersten Eshkol-Wachmann Bewegungsnotation schlägt die Brücke zwischen der im Sommer 2023 gezeigten Performance Pause: The Noa Eshkol Chamber Dance Group in den KW und der Ausstellung im Georg Kolbe Museum 2024. Das Buch wird im März 2024 im Georg Kolbe Museum vorgestellt. Um mehr zu erfahren und zu bestellen, klicken Sie hier.

Weitere Highlights sind:

20. April, 11. Mai, 15. Juni, 13. Juli, 10. August Feldenkrais mit Dirk Hauska

30. Juni Panorama mit Prof. Mohnke – Können Roboter tanzen? 

1. Juni Künstlergespräch mit Omer Krieger

22. Juni Künstlerinnengespräch mit Ayumi Paul

11. August Forms of Breath, Aktivierung in Form einer Meditation mit Ayumi Paul

25. August Künsterlinnengespräch mit Yael Bartana

17. August Performance von Janne-Camilla Lyster

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung fand am 15. April 2024 ein digitaler Workshop Activating a Collection. Artists‘ Estates in the Digital Space statt. Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen.